Dawkins elected to be NCAA women’s basketball



Ethan Westerman

Ethan Westerman's Twitter account

Published: Saturday, July 15, 2023

FAYETTEVILLE — University of Arkansas deputy athletic director Derita Renee-Ratcliffe Dawkins has been elected to serve as chair of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee for the 2024-25 season.

The announcement was made during a meeting this week in Savannah, Ga., during the panel’s summer gathering. Committee members voted to give Dawkins chair honors, which will make her the 23rd women’s committee chair in the NCAA’s history.

Dawkins has been on the committee since 2020 and will take on co-chair duties for the 2023-24 season. She is the first UA representative to be part of the delegation.

“I am deeply honored that my fellow committee members felt me worthy of such an important responsibility,” Dawkins said in a news release. “I have approached this commitment and responsibility as an opportunity to honor my mother Nina Ratcliffe’s life and her love of college sports. This appointment would be a wonderful culmination of this meaningful opportunity to serve the industry and to honor my mom.”

Dawkins has worked for over 20 years in college athletics and is assistant vice chancellor and chief diversity officer for UA. She is Arkansas’ sport administrator for women’s basketball along with men’s and women’s cross country and track & field. Dawkins also serves as the department’s Senior Woman Administrator.

The NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Committee reviews recommendations concerning championship administration. These duties include tournament team selection and site selections. The committee oversees selection of the 32 teams that learn at-large bids for the NCAA Tournament.

“During my three years on the committee, we have made great strides in moving the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Tournament forward as a destination event,” Dawkins said. “I look forward to continuing the upward trajectory we have enjoyed.”

Source link

Comments are closed.